vegan chana masala – my lunches this week

Hello happy people! I hope this Sunday finds you well.

As my husband and many of my coworkers know,  I am a part-time vegetarian. “What does this mean?”, you might ask. Well, during the week, and sometimes on the weekend, I don’t eat meat for breakfast or lunch. I eat a small portion of meat for dinner. wpid-20150614_151232-1.jpg

It all started when my step-daughter decided to become a vegetarian. My husband and I love having her come to visit,  which usually includes a meal or two. Along with our dinners,  I also would make her a vegetarian meal.  After a while,  I started liking some of the meals I made for her, and in time,  I decided to make the for my lunches.

This vegan chana masala is one of my favorites.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Vegan Chana Masala

courtesy of Cookie and Kate 

wpid-20150614_150905-1.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil or olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 yellow onion,  chopped
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic (about 5 cloves)
  • 1 Tbsp peeled and minced fresh ginger
  • 1 green Serrano pepper,  minced (seed it first,  for less heat)
  • 1 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp ground tumeric
  • 3/4 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 cans (14 oz) petite diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans (14 oz) chickpeas (3 cups) drained and rinsed

Instructions:

  1. In a Dutch oven or large saucepan,  heat oil over medium heat. When a drop of water sizzles upon hitting the pan,  reduce the heat to medium-low and add the cumin seeds.  Toast the seeds for a minute or two, stirring frequently, until seeds are golden and fragrant. Watch carefully to avoid burning.
  2. Raise the heat to medium and stir in the onion,  garlic,  ginger, and Serrano.  Cook for five minutes,  stirring often.  Stir in spices and cook for two more minutes.
  3. Add the diced tomatoes and their juices.
  4. Raise the heat to medium-high and add the chickpeas.  Bring to a simmer and cook for ten minutes or longer to allow flavors to develop.
Leave a Reply

